First City Commission meetings of the New Year will have lots of swearing

Posted by Dan Whisenhunt January 3, 2016

This story has been updated. 

There will be lots of swearing going on at the first City Commission meeting of the year in Decatur and Avondale Estates.

Both commissions will swear in newly-elected officials who were voted into office in the Nov. 3 elections.

In Decatur there will be two new faces on the City Commission: Tony Powers and Brian Smith. Commissioner Scott Drake was re-elected. Commissioners in Decatur will also choose their officers. Unlike many other cities in Georgia, Decatur’s mayor is chosen by fellow commissioners. Outgoing mayor Jim Baskett opted not to run for his at-large commission seat, and is being replaced by Powers. Baskett served as mayor pro tempore before being elected mayor in 2013 to replace outgoing mayor Bill Floyd. City Commissioner Patti Garrett was elected mayor pro tempore last year, following the resignation of Kecia Cunningham.

Decatur will also appoint a city attorney – the city has been represented by Wilson, Morton & Downs for years, the same firm that represents City Schools of Decatur and Avondale Estates – designate a chief judge of Municipal Court and appoint Municipal Court judges.

Decatur’s City Commission meeting starts at 7:30 p.m. and will be held at City Hall, located at 509 North McDonough Street. All meetings are open to the public.

In Avondale Estates, newly-elected commissioners Brian Fisher and Adela Yelton will be sworn in. They will replace commissioners Lindsay Forlines and John Quinn. Mayor Jonathan Elmore, who was re-elected on Nov. 3 after running unopposed, will also be sworn in. A reception will follow. The meeting begins at 7:30 p.m. and will be held at City Hall, located at 21 North Avondale Plaza. All meetings are open to the public.

About Dan Whisenhunt

Dan Whisenhunt is editor and publisher of

View all posts by Dan Whisenhunt

Receive the Daily Email DIgest

* = required field